Benet Casablancas: A Composer’s Portrait

The Foundation for Iberian Music presents a concert by Perspectives Ensemble.

Presented by Miller Theatre

Thursday, February 25th, 2010
Miller Theatre
Columbia University
2960 Broadway & 116th st.

Press Links:
NY Daily News
Harlem One Stop

Casablancas Poster



New Epigrams for Chamber Orchestra (1997)
1. Con moto
2. Adagio
3. Scherzando (Con moto)

Little Night Music (1993)

“Four Darks in Red”
Miller Theater Commission



Seven Scenes from Hamlet for speaker and chamber orchestra

1. Prologue, Misterioso
2. The Court. Suspicions, Allegro moderato
3. To be or not to be, Moderato molto e pensieroso
4. Ophelia, Larguetto amoroso
5. Party of the players, “a jig”, Moderato
6. Yorick, burial of Ophelia, Poco grave
7. The ending, Allegro furioso

Sato Moughalian, Musical Director
Àngel Gil Ordóñez, Conductor

Born in Sabadell (Barcelona), Benet Casablancas Domingo is one of the leading Spanish composers of his generation. His works, distinguished with numerous commissions and awards, have been performed around Europe, Canada, the USA and South America, by prestigious soloists, ensembles and conductors.

His wide-ranging oeuvre, covering the most diverse genres and formats, is marked by a quest for radical personal and aesthetic independence. The critics have highlighted his concern for balancing constructional rigor and expressive strength, dramatic character and whimsical register, in the framework of a discourse in which coexist a progressively luminous harmonic language, rhythmic spirit, a growing timbre differentiation and instrumental virtuosity. In 2007 he received the National Prize of Music of the Catalonia Government, Generalitat of Catalunya, which is the highest honor that the government of his country awards in this cultural field.

Founded in 1993, Perspectives Ensemble creates musical events that present the works of composers in cultural or historic context. Its programs offer interpretations informed by the influences prevailing upon composers at the time of composition, and often bridge and integrate the musical, visual, and literary arts.

Àngel Gil Ordóñez has attained an outstanding reputation among Spain’s new generation of conductors. In 2006, the King of Spain awarded him the country’s highest civilian decoration, the Royal Order of Queen Isabella, which is equivalent to a knighthood, for his work in advancing Spanish culture in the world, in particular for performing and teaching Spanish music in its cultural context.