Foundation for Iberian Music presents Ricardo Viñes: Pianist and Visionary

July 12, 2010

The Foundation for Iberian Music presents

Ricardo Viñes: Pianist and Visionary


A lecture recital by

Alejandra Pacheco, piano

Thursday, July 29, 2010 ∙ 7pm

Segal Theater

CUNY Graduate Center

365 Fifth Ave.

Tel. 212 817 1819

P r o g r a m

Valses poéticos

Enrique Granados (1867-1916)

Menuet antique

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)

Cuatro piezas para piano

Menuet spectral

En Verlaine mineur

Threnodie, ou Funerailles antiques

Crinoline, ou La Valse au temps de la Montijo

Ricard Viñes (1875-1943)

Fantasia baetica

Manuel de Falla (1876-1946)

Ricardo Viñes appears as one of the most outstanding Catalan performers of the 20th Century, and one of the brightest figures in the pre-War Piano world. Endowed with a prodigious talent, an extraordinary memory and an enormous curiosity for every field of human knowledge, Viñes was friend, dedicatoire, and first-performer of some of the most important composers of his time: Ravel, Satie, Debussy, Falla, Granados, as well as Stravinsky, and Poulenc, among others.

Alejandra Pacheco studied piano with Alicia de Larrocha in Barcelona (Spain) for several years and has focused her concert activity on the Spanish music of the 20th Century. She has also published several research works on this subject, and taken part in International Congresses and Seminars. She has been granted a Fulbright scholarship and is currently a Visiting Scholar at the Foundation for Iberian Music.

To listen to the performance, click the link below:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Comments on this entry are closed.