Schoenberg in Barcelona

2 March, 2006

Program notes

Like Paris and Berlin, interwar Barcelona (c.1920-1936) was a cauldron of international modernist creativity: Schoenberg composed Moses und Aron, Webern conducted the Pau Casals Workers’ Orchestra, and Alban Berg’s Violin Concerto was premiered.  This powerful momentum shaped a generation of composers (Robert Gerhard, Joaquim Homs, and Josep Soler, among others) and inspired the work of a generation of visual artists and literary minds (Antoni Tàpies, Joan Brossa, J.E. Cirlot, and other members of the “Dau al Set” group).

The program includes:

Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951)
Drei Klavierstücke, Op. 11
1. Mässig; 2. Sehr langsam; 3. Bewegt

Robert Gerhard (1896-1970)
Dos Apunts / Two Sketches for piano

Arnold Schoenberg
Klavierstück, Op. 33b

Joaquim Homs (1906-2003) in celebration of his centennial
Tres invenciones sobre un acorde
Set peces / Seven Pieces
Díptic II: 1. El vent no té repòs; 2. Plany
Impromptu No. 6 for piano trio

Robert Gerhard
“The Cave of Montesinos,” from Don Quixote
Three Impromptus: I. Giochevole

Concert (part 1)
Concert (part 2)

A Panel discussion moderated by Antoni Pizà with Walter Frisch, Adam Kent, and members of the Damocles will follow the performance.  Sponsored by the Institut Ramon Llull of Barcelona

Panel discussion