Composer’s Commissions

In following its mission of promoting and disseminating the music of the Iberian diaspora, each year the Foundation for Iberian Music commissions a work from a prominent composer committed to the artistic exchange between the Americas and Europe. The following composers have been awarded the Composer’s Commission in past years.

2024:  Miquel À. Múrcia i Cambra

2023:  Fernando Buide

2022: Marc Migó:  L’ILLA DESERTA:  Preludes for Piano, Book 1

2014: Isolated Inner Space by Javier Arias Bal

2013: Skyshadows by Albert Guinovart (click title for video)

2012: Dance, Song and Celebration: Homage to Xavier Montsalvatge by Benet Casablancas (click title for video)

2011: Homenatge for piano by Tania León (click title for video)

2010: Songs of the Infinite for violin and piano by Miguel Ángel Roig-Francolí (click title for audio)

2009: Ladies in White for clarinet, cello, and piano by Paquito D’Rivera (click title for video)

2008: Mentum for piano by Antoni Parera Fons (click title for audio)

2007: Hesperia for piano by Anna Cazurra (click title for audio)

2006: Piano Trio by Román Alís

2005: Dreams/Somnis for piano by Josep Prohens (Movement 1; Movement 2.)

See also our full audio archive!