Composer’s Commission 2011: Distinguished Professor Tania León

2011: The Foundation for Iberian Music proudly announces that distinguished Brooklyn College professor Tania León will write the 2011 Composer’s Commission.

The program is going to be “Spain in America”, a celebration of Spanish composers working in the U.S. or writing music inspired by the Americas. Prof. León’s piece is intended as a response to Xavier Montsalvatge (1912-2002), a Spaniard greatly influenced by the music of Cuba, from a Cuban native. This season will mark the centennial of Montsalvatge’s birth. Also on the program will be works by Carlos Surinach (who lived in New Haven), Enrique Granados (whose “Goyescas” was premiered at the Metropolitan Opera), and Octavio Vazquez (a young composer from Galicia) who currently lives here in Manhattan.

The Composer’s Commission will premier her work on 30 November, 2011 at Carnegie Hall.  The concert will feature pianist Adam Kent.

Adam Kent will be receiving the the Spanish government’s “Orden al Merito Civil” this year for my work promoting Spanish culture at a special ceremony at the Spanish Consulate. The Consulate also recently underwrote a course Kent taught in the history of Spanish music at Brooklyn College.

Spain in America
Wednesday, November 30, 2011
8:00 pm
Weill Recital Hall, Carnegie Hall
154 West 57th Street
New York, NY 10019
(212) 247-7800